Customize Chrome default (user-agent-stylesheet) CSS

I use Google Chrome for my everyday web browsing. On the system, I also use Download Accelerator Plus (DAP) as my download management software.

The problem with DAP is, it’s plugin will insert an html code/tag on the page displayed on Chrome down at the bottom of the page (right before body’s close-tag), whenever the page is clicked on for the first time.

dap_embed


As you can see, the tag style contains visibility property set to collapse. Therefore, whenever the page finished loading and clicked on, there will be a huge blank space inserted at the bottom of the page. In most cases, this won’t affect the page viewing. But when I have created a page and set the page’s height to be always 100% or at certain fixed pixels, this insertion of tag will cause the scrollbar to appear to accommodate the blank space and somehow, this annoys me.

Therefore, on every web project I wrote, I add the following CSS to the default css file of the web so it will hide the DAP tag permanently.

#DAPPlugin{
	display:none !important;
}

That will take care of it for every pages in my project.

What about other websites? Web page that’s not mine to modify the CSS?¬†Well, I add the above CSS to my Chrome’s custom User Stylesheets file located at C:\Users\{username}\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\User StyleSheets/Custom.css. Therefore, Chrome will apply the above CSS to all pages viewed on it and permanently hide the tag on all pages.

P/S: If the above Custom.css or it’s path does not exists, open Chrome with --enable-user-stylesheet parameter. Or perhaps, just create the path and file.

One Response to Customize Chrome default (user-agent-stylesheet) CSS

  1. Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to
    put this information together. I once again
    find myself spending a lot of time both reading and leaving
    comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

